Art Center Gallery

2014 Art Hop

Art Hop Catalog

Art Hop Catalog

When I submitted my entries for the Georgetown Art Hop, a statewide art competition, little did I realize that not one, but four of my works would be accepted.

Two years ago, never entering any of my work in anything, I submitted several of my fruit still-lifes in the 2012 Art Hop.  I was elated when I received the email saying one of my works had been accepted.  I’ll never forget the feeling; actually being recognized as an artist by someone other than family, who has to tell you your work is good.   The first thing I did was to order business cards with ‘Artist’ as my title.  Over my career I’ve had business cards with all kinds of executive management and technical titles, but it is the card with ‘Artist’ I revere the most.

In 2013, none of my work was accepted, but my son, Michael, did have one of his paintings in the show and that was just as good.  This year, over 600 artists entered and I ended up with four works hanging on the walls; I’m a little beside myself.

Yesterday, my family, friends, and I attended the Art Hop reception at the Georgetown Art Center.

Art Center Gallery

Art Center Gallery

Located in a remodeled historic firehouse, the Art Center is a beautiful gallery space.  Draught House, with it’s bright red umbrellas, is hanging there.

Draught House and Me at the Art Center

Draught House and Me at the Art Center

Oban and Edinburgh Evening are at Cianfrannis Coffee Company on the Georgetown square.

Oban at Cianfannis

Oban at Cianfannis

Edinburgh Evening and me at Cianfrannis

Edinburgh Evening and me at Cianfrannis

Umbrellas, which is my new favorite is hanging at the Georgetown Library.

Umbrellas

Umbrellas

As busy as my art schedule is this fall and all the preparations I need to make, I think I will just lock myself away in my studio and paint the rest the day.

 

One thought on “2014 Art Hop

Leave a comment