From-Republic-Square

From Republic Square

From-Republic-Square

From-Republic-Square

Republic Square is a small public park that sits on a western edge of Austin.  Looking eastward from the park a changing skyline can be seen.  The older government buildings are now back dropped by towering glass buildings that reflect the sky and clouds.  As my paintings move from Scotland to Austin, I find myself having to adjust my painting style. The buildings I painted in Scotland barely rose much higher than a few floors, even those I saw in Glasgow and Edinburgh were not extremely tall.  While this was true for Austin not that many years ago, the economy and tax incentives have led to a rapid growth of these 40 story towers.

Masking tape, lots of masking tape, helps me achieve the long straight lines my jiggily hands would not allow me to paint.  Between the windows I have used a narrow pin-stripping tape to block off what I don’t want painted.  This process allows for several options, which are best to apply in a consistent manner.  I can paint the brick and mortar of the building first, then when the paint is dry, mask that part off leaving the windows to paint; or I can do just the opposite and paint the entire building as a window, then mask off where the windows will remain and paint the brick and mortar of the building.  Either works, but I have found it is much easier to tape off the building first, leaving the windows in the gap between the tape to paint.

The tall glass structures present a similar challenge that can only be solved by painting the windows first at the same time I paint the sky. I then mask the outline of the building to add its contours and structure, while still maintaining the reflection of the sky.

So palette knives in one hand and rolls of masking tape in the other, I am able to paint the familiar and not so familiar buildings of Austin.  Thankfully trees will always be trees.

3 thoughts on “From Republic Square

  1. I love this piece. Thanks for sharing your techniques. Also, do you have any resources that will help me with perspective? I am having a terrible time seeing the perspective of my drawings on the page. I have looked at youtube videos, but I can’t get it. Any simple solutions you can give me? I appreciate you answering my questions. Damita

    Like

    • Thanks for your comments Damita. For your perspective question; getting it right can be difficult, especially when the ‘vanishing point’ runs off the page, or there are two vanishing points like there are with the tan building in From Republic Square. Try small practice drawings of something simple like a road narrowing off into the distance, then using the vanishing point of the road, add a fence line that narrows to the same point, then add a line of utility poles. From there add a building, with the same angles. Just messing around with drawings like that will help train your eye. One key thing to remember; vertical lines are always vertical; 90 degrees to the horizon. I use a T-Square to make sure my vertical lines stay vertical, else everything looks off regardless of how well you hit the vanishing point.

      When faced with a vanishing point that runs off the paper or canvas…take a look at my blog titled Challenged By St John (February 2013). It shows how I solved that problem.

      I hope this was helpful. We need to get out and Urban Sketch some more!

      Keep drawing!
      ROBB

      Like

  2. Thanks Robb for this great help. I will keep drawing and will be posting some work shortly. Yes, I’m ready to do more Urban Sketching. Hope to see you soon. Thanks again. Damita

    Like

Leave a comment